Exploring Oil Painting on Varied Surfaces

When I first started painting, I mostly used canvas sheets and sometimes homemade gessoed cardboard. But as I got more into it, I started trying out different surfaces from different companies.

Right off the bat, I realized stretched canvas wasn’t my thing. It felt too bouncy and kind of distracting. So, I experimented with canvas on boards instead. Some of the cheaper ones needed a few layers of primer to fill in the holes, or else I’d spend ages trying to cover them up while painting.

Then I stumbled upon the primed boards from Ampersand. Their super-smooth version took me by surprise at first, but I ended up really enjoying painting on them.

I’m also a big fan of using paper for oil, especially the Arches paper. It’s got this scratchy texture that might seem weird at first, but once you get used to it, it’s pretty fun to work with.

These days, I switch between different surfaces depending on how I feel. Sometimes I’ll paint on paper, other times on board.

My advice? Go for the good stuff, the artist-quality materials. And don’t be afraid to try everything out there. Variety keeps things interesting!

Happy painting! 🙂

This post is not sponsored.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started